Savor The Earth

eat tastier, eat greener, eat cheaper

Bread Out Back July 4, 2009

Filed under: bread,bread machine — Austin Frugal Foodie @ 3:26 pm
Tags: , ,

I generally use my bread machine just for mixing and kneading dough but in the hot hot months here I’ll bake an occasional loaf in the machine itself.  You already know it’s super easy to just dump in your ingredients, push the button and go.  I’ve now taken to putting the bread maker outside to keep the heat where it belongs.  Not quite the same as having a wood-burning forno or tandoor in the backyard but getting the job done nonetheless.  Here’s a cornmeal bread that bakes on the quick cycle (about 2 hours) that’s especially great as toast with some Luckly Layla butter or Organic Valley Pasture butter.

CORNMEAL BREAD for the bread machine

  • 2/3 cup plus 3 Tablespoons water
  • 3/8 cup milk (6 Tablepoons), preferably local
  • scant teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoons local honey
  • 1 Tablespoon oil
  • 325 grams (2 1/2 cups) bread flour
  • 4 1/4 ounces (scant 1 cup) organic yellow cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon bread machine yeast

Your machine’s instructions will tell you in what order to place the ingredients into the pan.  In my machine, that would be the order listed.  Take your machine outside–it’s best to bake in the shade.  Program your loaf on the quick or rapid bake setting and go back inside to cool off!

This recipe makes a small loaf.  If you find yourself with leftovers, tear or cut the bread into chunks and stash it in a bag or other container in the freezer.  I do this with almost any kind of stale bread.  When your stash is full, you can easily bake up some improv stuffing–in the toaster oven of course!

Today we enjoyed this bread with purple hull peas from Oak Hill Farms ($4.99 per 1 pound bag) from Central Market.  You’ll find various cowpea types at our farmers markets right now.  In addition to my standard fixin’s, I sparkled this pot o’ peas with a few of Finca Pura Vida’s small oblong greenish-red tomatoes and a languishing leek type thing (elephant garlic, I believe) from the back of the veggie drawer.  Some fresh oregano, marjoram and savory from my herb garden didn’t hurt either.  Tender palates in this house can’t take much spice so I drizzled the grown-up portions with a little pickled jalapeno brine.  I almost never let good brine go to waste.  I use olive brine for seasoning veggies and sometimes hummus and I’ve been known to quick-fix my cucumber salad with some leftover pickle juice.  Waste not!

January 25, 2010                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Speaking of zero-waste,  leftovers from this loaf toast up into first rate breadcrumbs.  You can store them in the freezer if you don’t eat ’em all up with a spoon!

 

3 Responses to “Bread Out Back”

  1. […] cup bread crumbs.  I crumble up stale bread and freeze it.  Cornmeal bread, crumbled and lightly toasted, makes incredible bread crumbs.  Sometimes I just eat ‘em with […]

  2. […] the family while I worked but I was all out of milk (or so I thought).  So I reworked my “Bread Out Back” recipe for a fast baking bread machine pain (dare I call it by its French name?).  […]

  3. […] cup organic panko breadcrumbs or homemade dried breadcrumbs or organic cracker crumbs.  Someone around here can’t survive without Whole Foods 365 […]


Leave a Reply

