Savor The Earth

eat tastier, eat greener, eat cheaper

Belated Bun Bonus October 23, 2009

Filed under: bread,Chinese,vegetarian — Austin Frugal Foodie @ 5:49 pm
steamy blooms

steamy blooms

savory bouquet

savory bouquet

I was starting to feel guilty for not having posted the bonus recipe from my Steamed Goat Buns entry.  So I went back and checked and it’s only been six weeks!  What with the weather change (finally!) and all this mommying I thought I’d steamed my buns months ago.  I guess I’m not that late after all.  I’ll just pretend I timed this post to coincide  with my mention of South River‘s wonderful organic miso in the last recipe.  Plus I happen to already have the requisite photos on my desktop and with our camera on the blink (get well soon, Mr. Olympus), I can post-with-images, like a respectable blogger!

STEAMED BUNS BONUS:  Savory Flower Rolls yield varies

  • South River organic white miso, or your favorite brand and style.  I bought mine at Whole Foods.
  • toasted sesame oil.  Spectrum bottles an organic version.

I made these flower rolls with excess steamed bun dough for which I had no more filling.  Mix together your miso and some sesame oil to taste.  You want a spreadable yummy blend.  Maybe four parts miso to one part oil.  Just taste as you go.  The amount required will depend on how much dough you have to fill.  You can make an entire batch of flower rolls if you want.  Any leftover miso filling can be stirred into stir-fries, rice or noodles, so don’t worry about mixing up too much.

Roll out your dough into a rectangle about ¼” to 1/3″ thick.  Spread the miso paste all over the surface (I use a small offset spatula, but the back of a  spoon will work.  I’m sure you’ll  find an adequate implement.)  Roll up the dough to enclose the filling, jelly roll style, starting with a longer edge.  Using a sharp knife, cut the roll into about 1″ segments.  Stack two segments on top of each other, cut sides facing you (and, obviously, the other cut sides facing away from you).  Place an oiled bamboo skewer on top, perpendicular to yourself, and press down to squash out the roll fore and aft.  Slip out your stick.  Pick up the roll and pull the left and right sides down to meet each other on the underside of the bun.  Pinch these ends together.  This kind of fans out the floral layers on the top.   There’s more than one way to flower a bun, but I like the bloom this technique (from the irreplaceable Barbara Tropp‘s indispensable reference, The Modern Art of Chinese Cooking) delivers.

Btw,  I’ve seen Chinese Flower Rolls blogged-up recently.  For a striking wasabi-fllled roll (using a more traditional dough recipe and a different forming method), check out the “Bread Baking Babes”  Lucullian Delights and Bake My Day.

From here on out, the process is just like making other buns.  So I’m simply copying much of the relevant info here from my goat buns post.  You’re going to form the rolls, let them rise and then steam them.  Easy peasy.

Cut out 20 approximately 2″ X 2″ squares of silicone-coated parchment paper.  I use If You Care brand unbleached parchment, available at Central Market and Whole Foods.

Set each formed flower atop an individual square of parchment paper and place on a baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough.

When you’ve rolled all your rolls, cover them loosely with a piece of plastic wrap (or green alternative, such as a large aluminum roasting pan), and let them rise until springy to the touch, about 30 to 60 minutes.  The timing will depend on the usual doughy factors such as ambient temperature and humidity.

Towards the end of risin’ time, get a 10″ diameter (to match your steamer basket) pot of water boiling.  Use plenty of water ’cause you’ll be steaming your buns for 15 minutes.  Place each bun, still on its parchment square, into the steamer baskets, leaving about 1 ½” between them, to allow for their expansion.  Stack your steamer atop your boiling pot—be sure to place the lid on the steamer—and steam for 15 minutes.  Remove the entire contraption from the heat and WAIT for 5 minutes before slowly opening the lid away from yourself (so’s not to get a face full of hot steam).

Your buns are hot and ready now!  Store leftovers in the fridge and reheat them by steaming for another 15 minutes.



 

Leave a Reply

